In the Pits – Homemade Deodorant and You

Yeah, this is happening.

Yeah, this is happening.

Back in March….

I knew I was sick this morning when I got out of bed only to drag my leaking nose and sore throat across the house to the couch, squinting and groaning as my husband opened the curtains to reveal a sunny sky and retreating gratefully into the warmth of my comforter. The outside light is still just too much. I sit here with my favorite sitcom on (How I Met Your Mother) and a collection of pills, salves, and other fixer-uppers; you’ll notice specifically my homemade lip balm, a bag of Burt’s Bees Honey Natural Throat Drops, and multiple vitamins.

Ever since I got back from Florida, my health has been on a steady decline. First, it was my eye, which developed a weird, non-pink eye pink eye sort of redness and irritation. The cold I have is an unfortunate addition, too. But the worst thing of all is the curious rash(es) I developed.

Pretty graphic...

Pretty graphic…

Now, I believe the first one was an allergy to laundry detergent, since it was less a rash than it was a bunch of non-red, non-itchy, raised little bumps only on my torso where I wore the washed shirt I believe to be the culprit. But this next one…this rash is awful. Irritated, itchy, red, slowly but definitively spreading, and covering my armpit and even taking over my tasteful sideboob. The problem began in Florida, where I was shaving a lot (almost every day) and applying a lot of deodorant. The other problem was spending a lot of time in the sand, sun, and surf while not showering every day because our skin would dry out. At that point, things weren’t too bad. But since I’ve gotten back, it’s just gotten worse and worse, particularly since I sweat so much at work!

Some of the best defenses for this ailment

Some of the best defenses for this ailment

To take care of my poor skin, I’m taking a number of precautions: 1) I’m not shaving until the skin is healed, 2) I’m not wearing my homemade deodorant until the skin is healed because the baking soda can be irritating to those with sensitive skin like me, 3) I’m washing all my bras, shirts, and anything that comes in contact with the pits with an extra rinse cycle to get any potential soap residue out, 4) I’m eating lots of vitamin C to boost my immune system, in addition to relaxing and smiling, 5) I’m putting plain coconut oil on my armpits, which is antifungal, antibacterial, and very soothing/healing to the skin and body, and 6) I’m staying well hydrated so my skin has the tools it needs to get better.

I'm considering making a new label for this baby!

I’m considering making a new label for this baby!

In the meantime, I won’t be able to use my incredible homemade deodorant, but my husband loves it! Now that he’s tried it and liked it long enough, I’ll be making him his own, which means I will no longer have to pick his armpit hairs out of it (boys are gross). I call my deodorant Texas Tea because, among other scents, it combines tea tree oil and Texas cedarwood essential oil (plus it’s funny because, instead of having deodorant manufactured and shipped, mine’s made right here! So it’s ironic, too). It withstood the test of its effectiveness in Florida (and in 4 days spent in the car), and it works great while I’m waitressing! I always smell like coconuts. So, needless to say, I’m never going back to store-bought. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have!

Natural Homemade Deodorant: “Texas Tea”
1/4 c. baking soda
1/4 c. cornstarch
8 tbsp. organic, unrefined, virgin coconut oil
5-10 drops tea tree oil
5-10 drops Texas cedarwood oil

UPDATE, 4.11: My plans to get better were all well and good, but better said than done. Along with those rashes, I was consistently sick with a “cold” for weeks, and I have only just now finished the antibiotics that my doctor prescribed me with for my bad sinus infection a few days ago. I’m finally returning to normal! And, finally, I’m back to wearing my AWESOME deodorant!

I also highly recommend scouring the internet for the many, many health and body benefits of coconut oil.

What do you think?

