Hollandaise Revisited: Mockandaise

Hello, my name is Whitney. Hi Whitney. I have been an artichoke addict for about a month now. This week, I caved twice: once at my partner’s parents’ house, and once again at 2 AM this morning. I feel I shouldn’t be indulging myself with artichokes, but…they are absolute bliss. After a weekend of the world’s most delicious cheesecake and heaps of red meat with gravy, who can blame me for craving a leafy green artichoke in all its glory? I couldn’t sit still as I waited for the pot to boil; always 45 minutes to wait for the exotic thistle to soften, the cynara cardunculus of my dreams.

If this addiction were to continue–if I let myself give in–there has to be a better way to make hollandaise sauce, a healthier way, so my waist band doesn’t expand as my addiction deepens into obsession….with artichokes.

I experimented last night with a preparation I thought might work and…lo and behold! It did. After making my first hollandaise recipe, which resulted in an excess of this smooth, fatty emulsion, I reduced the old recipe by 33% and still had plenty for 2 servings (while the old recipe is more like 3, which I don’t need for two people). When there is a large bowl of this stuff in front of you, it’s hard not to dip in and lick the bowl, so the result of my crafty cutting is sure to cut back on the nutrition in a huge way:

Old Hollandaise: New Hollandaise: Mockandaise:
2 artichokes                                    2 artichokes                                       2 artichokes
3 egg yolks                                       2 egg yolks                                         1 large egg
6 tbsp.                                              4 tbsp. butter                                     2 tbsp. unsalted butter
—-                                                    —-                                                        2 tbsp. canola oil
1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. lemon juice          1 tbsp. lemon juice                            1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. water                                   2 tsp. water                                         2 tsp. water
salt and pepper                              salt, pepper, garlic powder             salt, pepper, g. powder

Calories: 387                                  Calories: 260                                     Calories: 260
Total fat: 41 g                                 Total fat: 27.5 g                                 Total fat: 28 g
Saturated fat: 24 g                        Saturated fat: 16 g                             Saturated fat: 9 g
Polyunsat fat: 2.3 g                       Polyunsat fat: 1.6 g                           Polyunsat fat: 5.1 g
Monounsat fat: 13 g                     Monounsat fat: 8.6 g                        Monounsat fat: 12.6 g
Cholesterol: 400 mg                    Cholesterol: 267 mg                          Cholesterol: 124 mg
Sodium: 1200 mg                         Sodium: 1200 mg                               Sodium: 1200 mg
Total carbs: 1.4 g                           Total carbs: 1.1 g                                Total carbs: 0.5 g
Protein: 4.3 g                                 Protein: 2.9 g                                      Protein: 3.3 g

The nutritional differences are striking enough that one may consider switching to the “mockandaise” sauce…

This now concludes our session of ALA (Artichoke Lovers Anonymous).

3 thoughts on “Hollandaise Revisited: Mockandaise

What do you think?

