Bana Bread…Bananana Bread…Banaan Bread…Bread. Or Muffins.

Banana Bread

Eating it was more important than capturing it on film...

This shit is bananas! No, literally, this shit is bananas. There is truly nothing better to do with mushy bananas than make them into banana bread, banana muffins, or a smoothie. Unfortunately, I don’t have a blender, so I had to opt for banana muffins. I have used ripe and slightly underripe bananas for this recipe as well, though they are far better on their own or covered with Nutella…

My favorite part about making this dish is that I can save part of one banana from the potato masher and give it to Sunny, my delightful little bunny. She can always sense that I’m about to give her food, but nonetheless she stands in her cage and begs like a dog, ears perked and nose twitching in excitement. She grabs the bit of banana from my fingers, hunches over it like a child might around hungry brothers or sisters, and begins slurping it down. If I’m not eating or working at the time, the noise is the cutest thing, a combination of a wet tongue sound and her little happy gulping noises as she swallows loudly. When she eats pellets, it just sounds like she’s attacking a bowl of cereal as the bits roll around and she pounces and crunches; when she eats something mushy, she gets the tongue out. This is the reason for her nickname: Gene Simmons.

This recipe doesn’t have a very clear cooking time for the bread. I took the muffin recipe and simply threw it in a loaf pan and, more than 45 minutes later, finally had bread. If you are not very good at looking at a baked good and determining if it is done, you may want to stick to the muffin recipe. The bread is a bit of a pain in the ass. Also, as you’ll notice, this recipe is half white and half wheat flour; this ratio is attractive because the muffins are slightly moister and are also a bit less expensive (wheat flour is pricey, about a dollar a pound). However, I have used all wheat flour, and both the muffins and the bread come out fine. This recipe makes 12 muffins, or about 8 good-sized slices of bread.

Wheat Banana Muffins and Bread
3 mashed bananas
1/3 c. canola oil
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 c. white flour
1 c. wheat flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
dash of cinnamon
dash of vanilla extract

-Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
-Stir in all ingredients until combined (no point separating them into wet and dry).
-Butter or oil a muffin tin and spoon in the batter. You can also use paper cupcake cups instead if you prefer (for bread, lightly butter or oil your loaf pan).
-Bake 20-25 minutes, or until the middles are “clean.” Tip: All baked goods continue to bake after they are removed from the oven, so if the muffins begin to look golden brown and are almost clean, you are probably safe if you remove them from the oven. You don’t want to overcook them.
-Let cool and remove from the tin!

And just for you, Angelia, I have included all the nutrition information so you can incorporate this awesome dish into your day! These are estimates, but I made a spreadsheet to document all of the ingredients’ nutrients totaled, then divided by serving sizes. This is a fairly accurate representation of what you’re eating. šŸ™‚

Nutrition Info: One Muffin
Calories: 190
Total fat: 7 g
Saturated fats: <1 g
Unsaturated fats: 5.5 g
Cholesterol: 36 mg
Sodium: 149 mg
Carbohydrates: 29 g
Fiber: 2.3 g
Sugar: 12 g
Protein: 3.5 g

Nutrition Info: One Slice of Bread
Calories: 285
Total fat: 10.5 g
Saturated fats: 1 g
Unsaturated fats: 8.5 g
Cholesterol: 54 mg
Sodium: 224 mg
Carbohydrates: 44 g
Fiber: 3.5 g
Sugar: 18 g
Protein: 5.5 g

Tip: While this looks like a lot of fat, keep in mind that most is unsaturated, which is far better than saturated. Also, keep daily values in mind, and the fact that the fiber in each muffin does wonders for keeping your body’s metabolism balanced. Finally, I never make these with added salt, so feel free to cut out the sodium as well.

11 thoughts on “Bana Bread…Bananana Bread…Banaan Bread…Bread. Or Muffins.

  1. Mmmm this sounds delicious, even though I have no appetite right now from this wretched illness that has me bed-ridden (Yep, I’m in bed on the computer — comfiest spot to be). Bring me some muffins to class and you’ll be my favorite person of the day! šŸ™‚

  2. HAHA we’ll see how many bananas I have on Wednesday šŸ™‚ I hope you feel better Sam…

    I feel that almost everyone ends up hungry on this blog, including myself. Good or bad thing? Hard to tell.

  3. Wow this reminds me of the bread grandma use to make. Always the odd ball I hate Bananas but love Banana bread.

  4. I absolutely love banana bread. I once tried an instant mix that you just add eggs to, and in no way did it compare to the real thing. Props to you and your dedication with all of your spreadsheets and mathematics and whatever else you had to do to come up with all of that information.

  5. I also love banana bread. It is one of the many things my grandmother makes for her church bake sales, which I hurriedly run in and buy them all. She says she would make me my own, but I like giving money to something she is involved in. Though I like bread, when I make it I always make muffins, since I have no control over how much I eat. If I am presented with a loaf, I might be quickly caught shoving the whole thing into my mouth, then downing a glass of milk. The muffins allow me to limit my portions.

  6. Pingback: Hungry? Eat a Banana! | The Practical Vegetarian Weblog

  7. HAHA that is why I like to make muffins too, Emily – I go a little bit overboard on the banana bread… I’m so glad you guys love banana bread as much as I do. I feel it is pretty universal, at the end of the day.

What do you think?

